Show Data
Scottish Chamber Orchestra 2020
Scottish Chamber Orchestra 2020

This performance will be rescheduled to another date. All bookers will be contacted by our Box Office

The Scottish Chamber Orchestra is delighted to be returning to the Brunton with a fantastic programme.


Haydn: Symphony no 63 ‘Roxelane’
Saint Saens: Cello concerto No1
Suckling: Meditation (after Donne) SCO Commission
Mozart: Symphony no 41 ‘Jupiter’

Our conductor for the evening is the internationally acclaimed cellist Nicolas Altstaedt.  We open with Haydn’s delightfully playful Symphony no 63 ‘Roxelane’, written between 1779 and 1781 and named after the influential wife of Suleiman the Magnificent of the Ottoman Empire.  To follow, Camille Saint-Saëns’ beautifully expressive cello concerto which will doubtlessly offer ample opportunities for Nicolas to showcase his talents.

Martin Suckling’s Meditation was commissioned by the SCO as part of the 2018 Armistice Centenary commemorations and we end on a high note with a dazzling display of musical fireworks and craftsmanship courtesy of Mozart’s final masterly contribution to the symphonic repertoire, ‘Jupiter’.

Tickets: £20 (£18)
Friends save 20%
Save discount applies

Personal Basket